A Spiritual Witness vs Deception

Aaron32

I can believe the Bible, or any truth based on emotion, spiritual voodoo, or life experience, etc. but if I don’t logically understand the message, then none of that is worth anything.

If I WANT to believe something - if the desire to believe it surpasses my desire to understand WHY it’s true or false - Then I will always be under deception, regardless if the belief is actually true or not.

An analogy:
I could get a strong emotional experience that 1+1=2, but if I don’t understand the numbers or the logic, then I simply don’t understand - even though the conclusion is true. Let me explain:

I’m an analyst by profession, and I use Microsoft Excel quite frequently. Have you ever tried to add “1” as a text character instead of a numeric value? In computer processing, adding 1 + (a text character) returns “#VALUE”. It can’t compute. Adding 1+”1” isn’t any different than adding 1+”a”, it will result in an error.
Now, If you didn’t understand how computers work. It would drive you mad trying to figure out why 1+1 results as 2, but 1+”1” results as “#VALUE”.

Now, with that concept in mind, let’s consider “1+1=2” as a sentence, and in an analogy, lets pretend it’s a religious truth found in a religious text “One Plus One Equals Two” (Math 1:1)

The truth “1+1=2” could be message passed down for generations. Alot of family baggage could be attached to the truth of “1+1=2”. I could attach a lot of self-esteem issues to “1+1=2”, especially if I publicly lived and was accepted according to “1+1=2”. Therefore, I could get a strong emotional response to “knowing” “1+1=2”.
Again, if I don’t understand HOW 1+1=2, if I don’t understand the meaning of 1, 2, “+”, or “=“. The reality is, I simply don’t understand.

But if I NEED to know, I will turn to any evidence I have to, even if I have to invent it, to arrive at my conclusion. Spiritual experiences, life experience, etc. and block out any evidence to the contrary.