An Atheistic Death Cult

Unknown Soldier

Has anybody here visited the Internet Infidel (IIDB) discussion boards? I've had some bizarre experiences there. As far as I know almost all of the members there are atheists, but they act like a fanatical religious cult. For example, just recently a member of their staff told me that if she says anything to me, then I know it's true. Here's her exact words:
You know that I’m a true atheist because I told you I was.
Anything different than that is you trying to assert that I’m not.
But what really gets me about IIDB is their fanatical support for suicide. Check this out:
I look forward to death. Maybe not the dying part, which might suck, but the being dead part.
And if you think that's bad, then consider this:
You have an opinion. Opinions are like arseholes; Everyone has one, and they're often full of shit.

I have a right to die at the time and in the circumstances of my choosing, as does everyone else; And if you stand in the way of my right to my own fucking life, I will drive right on over you.

Who the hell do you think you are, making pontifical pronouncements about the lives of complete strangers?
Is IIDB an atheistic death cult? It looks that way to me.

Has anybody here visited the Internet Infidel (IIDB) discussion boards? I've had some bizarre experiences there. As far as I know almost all of the members there are atheists, but they act like a fanatical religious cult. For example, just recently a member of their staff told me that if she says anything to me, then I know it's true. Here's her exact words:

But what really gets me about IIDB is their fanatical support for suicide. Check this out:

I used to be on it back in 2003/4. It's actually where I began talking to atheists.
It struck me as a bunch of angry ex-pastors/priests/intelligentsia who just liked being in an echo chamber.

I used to be on it back in 2003/4. It's actually where I began talking to atheists.