Discussion, vs. Socratic "Questions"

Theo1689

Back in the day, discussion forums used to engage in DISCUSSION, and it was productive. You would see discussions like the following:

A: I believe this....
B: I see, but that poses a problem for me because...
A: Yes, I used to see that as a problem too, but then I came to understand that...
B: I don't think that works, because....

There would be a "give and take", with both people endeavouring to understand the other side, and respect the other side, and share and challenge each other's ideas.

Now, it's all about asking "questions", and "YOU NEED TO ANSWER MY QUESTION!"""

Socratic Questions

Now, there is a place for socratic questions. I know, because as a teacher, I use them all the time. My students are mildly annoyed that I don't simply give them the right answer, but they end up learning more as a result.

Teacher and Student

The Socratic method is useful when you have a "teacher-student" paradigm, where the student recognizes the teacher is more knowledgeable, and the student accepts the teacher as such, and respects them and their experience and knowledge.

This is NOT the situation we have in the forums. Everyone has a their own experience, and hopefully has a significant amount of experience studying the Bible and theology. Nobody here is a "teacher" for the others, we are all on equal planes, holding differing views. But unfortunately, too many people come to the forums thinking, "I am the TEACHER, and everyone else who is here is the "student", and they need to learn from me, and any time they disagree with me (subjective), I get to proclaim they're WRONG (objective), because as the self-appointed teacher, I am the only one who gets to determine truth."

Sorry, but nobody here has accepted anyone else as their teacher.
So nobody here gets to categorically say (on their own authority) that others are "wrong".
The closest we can come is to appeal to the authority of the Bible.

Questions?