Killing Contention: An analogy to win spiritual warfare

Aaron32

By profession I'm a business analyst and I love studying economics and trying to understand the global economy, fiscal policy, and the relationship between the two. I also enjoy discussions on this board. I found an analogy that is a mix of both that seems relevant to this board:

Currency = ideas & beliefs
When we share ideas and beliefs, we share a currency.
People may have opposing beliefs, some people have no use for our currency. Regardless of how valuable our currency seems to us, other people simply don't find the need for it, or want it. The person that creates the broadest of ideas, gains more power and influence. People try and devalue other people's currency because they see it as a threat, thinking - if people are using your currency they are not using my currency.

God's truth = Gold
The truth of God is the sovereign currency. Each of our own currency is evaluated to God's currency. We might look at it as comparing our fiat currency to the gold standard. Though governments may surpress the true value of gold, when faith in all currencies for exchange are lost, all that matters is the gold we own.

Each of us might think we own gold, or a debt note equivalent to gold. The true gospel is the gold. But even if we have gold, or lack thereof, that does not make us better or worse than anyone else. A TRUE disciple of Christ treats everyone the same - see James 2.

The real battle
Ephesians 6:
12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.
13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand

To my fellow more Mormons: