Theology and Church Music

Hello all! I was wondering how everyone feels about Church music. Should it mainly be praise and worship, theological or a combination of the two?

Thanks,
I love worship music. In and out of church services.
Granted, I've never attended a church service that didn't have worship music.

Furthermore, I've been learning to follow Jesus for several decades now and every church I've been to has had music of some variety or another.

Theologically speaking, Ephesians 5 discusses how we're to be filled with the Spirit and sing with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs.

Colossians mentioned something similar.

Paul's letters discuss the importance of giving thanks and singing praise.

Hello all! I was wondering how everyone feels about Church music. Should it mainly be praise and worship, theological or a combination of the two?

Thanks,
It depends on the words. Quotes William Booth:

Secular music, do you say, belongs to the devil? Does it? Well, if it did I would plunder him for it, for he has no right to a single note of the whole seven. Every note, and every strain, and every harmony is divine, and belongs to us.”

or

Why should the devil have all the best tunes?

I must admit I find some modern songs with words that are all about self. They tend not to uplifting for any one but self.

Thanks,
Hello Ziapueblo, I like a combination, but if it had to be one or the other, then the theology and doctrine that is taught in our hymns make them far more important to the church, IMHO anyway. While Christmas hymns are undoubtedly (as a whole) my favorites, especially musically speaking, the words of our hymns that help us know and better understand theology and doctrine (including long-held beliefs/traditions) should never be excluded (and yet they so often are these days, sadly).