X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quoting Matt Dillahunty

https://forums.carm.org/vb5/forum/se...91#post6130691

Originally posted by WhatsisFace View Post
    I would say no. To quote Matt Dillahunty, if I want to know if a pen works, is it circular to pick it up and use it?

Originally posted by STEVEB View Post
    Oh.... perfect! Thank you. You just achieved in a few words what I've been telling you for almost 7 years. Congratulations!

Then Matt Dillahunty would agree with the bible's statement quoting Jesus.

20 At that day you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you. 21 He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me. And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and manifest Myself to him.Ē

22 Judas (not Iscariot) said to Him, ďLord, how is it that You will manifest Yourself to us, and not to the world?Ē

23 Jesus answered and said to him, ďIf anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him. 24 He who does not love Me does not keep My words; and the word which you hear is not Mine but the Fatherís who sent Me.

Or, in Matt's terms.... if I want to know if Jesus is real, I'd engage him on the terms he's defined, and follow his instructions.

Nothing circular about it!
    In response to Calvert's question regarding empiricism, WiF responded that if someone wants to know how to use an object, they only need t pick it up, and start learning to use it.

In like manner, if someone wants to know another person, they only need to engage that individual, and learn to interact with them. It's not a difficult concept, but it is something that requires learning about that person.

For a long, long, long time, people have tried to reduce Christianity to a philosophical construct, removing the heart/soul of Jesus from it.